hajj e akbar

Hajj e Akbar

What is Hajj e Akbar?

Hajj, one of the Five Pillars of Islam. Every Muslim who is healthy and can afford it must go to Hajj at least once in their life. It’s one of the really important things in Islam. This trip is very important because it brings Muslims together. It also shows that everyone is equal, and is a way to show love and devotion to Allah.

There’s a word you might often hear during Hajj – “Hajj e Akbar.” It means the “Big Hajj.” But, there is a big misunderstanding about it, especially when people think it has something to do with the 9th day of Dhul Hijjah being on a Friday.

The Misconception

Misconception Surrounding Hajj e Akbar

Some people think that if the 9th day of Dhul Hijjah falls on a Friday, it’s called “Hajj e Akbar,” suggesting it’s a better pilgrimage with more rewards. But, this idea isn’t from the teachings of Prophet Muhammad (peace and blessings be upon him) or the Sunnah.

Friday Misconception and Its Origins

This idea of Friday being very important during Hajj has come from local customs, not directly from what Islam teaches. Fridays are important in Islam because it’s a special and blessed day called Jumu’ah. 


But saying that there are extra special things or rewards linked to the 9th day of Dhul Hijjah falling on a Friday during Hajj is not something backed up by what Islam teaches in its holy scriptures.

Importance of Clarifying Misconceptions

It’s very important to clear up these misunderstandings. This way, everyone can have the right idea about Hajj and follow the true teachings of Islam. Muslims can do their pilgrimage with the right thoughts and actions when things are clear, just like Islam teaches.

Understanding Hajj Types

Three Types of Hajj: Tamattu, Ifraad, and Qiraan

Hajj is a significant part of Islam that comes in three different types and  each offers a special way to undertake this sacred journey.


1. Tamattu:

Tamattu means doing Umrah first during the months of Hajj before finishing the Hajj rituals. Pilgrims show their commitment by saying “Labbayk for Umrah with release until Hajj” when starting Umrah. After Umrah, they stop following certain rules (ihram) and then start again for Hajj.

2. Ifraad:

What it is: Ifraad is about dedicating yourself to Hajj only, without including Umrah. Pilgrims declare their intention by saying “Labbayk for Hajj” when starting ihram, focusing only on the rituals of Hajj.

3. Qiraan:

Qiraan means combining Umrah and Hajj in one pilgrimage. Pilgrims express their commitment by saying “Labbayk for Umrah and Hajj” when starting ihram for both Umrah and Hajj. They continue following certain rules (ihram) until the “day of sacrifice.”

Rituals Associated with Each Type

In every type of Hajj- (Tamattu, Ifraad, and Qiraan) there are shared rituals that all pilgrims follow. These include entering ihram, performing Tawaaf, and engaging in Saa’i.

“Hajj e Akbar” in Light of the Three Types

Unlike what some may think, “Hajj e Akbar” doesn’t refer to a specific kind of Hajj. Instead, “Hajj e Akbar” highlights the overall importance of the pilgrimage itself. Whether you’re doing Tamattu, Ifraad, or Qiraan, all three types of Hajj are equally valued by Allah. 

Quranic References

Explanation of the Term “Al Hajjul-Akbar” in the Quran

In Surah Taubah (9:3) of the Quran, the term “Al Hajjul-Akbar” is mentioned. It’s important to understand that this Quranic term doesn’t point to a particular day of the week. Rather, it highlights the overall importance of Hajj in the Islamic faith.

Historical Context

The term “Al Hajjul-Akbar” became significant during the Hajj of the year 9 A.H. This particular Hajj, led by Abu Bakr, holds a crucial place in Islamic history, signifying a pivotal moment.

Prophet Muhammad’s Guidance on Hajj Types

The Prophet Muhammad gave clear guidance on the different Hajj types as mentioned in the Quran (Surah Taubah 9:3). This means that Muslims can choose the type that suits them best. 

Importance of Intentions and Actions

Significance of Sincere Intentions in Hajj

Regardless of the type of Hajj, having sincere intentions is important. Pilgrims should go on this sacred journey with a heart devoted to seeking Allah’s pleasure and forgiveness.

Reward is Based on Deeds, Not the Day

If the Day of Arafah falls on a Friday during Hajj, it doesn’t automatically make the pilgrimage superior. The reward you receive during Hajj depends on your actions, devotion, and how well you follow the prescribed rituals.

Role of Good Intentions

Prophet Muhammad (peace and blessings be upon him) emphasized how important the intentions are. Even a small action, when done with sincerity, can have a significant and meaningful impact.

Friday’s Role

Misconception About Friday’s Significance

It is important to correct a common misconception that the greatness of Hajj e Akbar is not determined by it falling on a Friday. While Friday is significant in Islam, it doesn’t influence the greatness of the Hajj pilgrimage.

The Importance of Friday

Friday, known as Jumu’ah, is a special day. However, it’s important to note that the significance of Friday doesn’t affect the nature or rewards of the Hajj pilgrimage, including Hajj e Akbar.

Final Words

To sum it up, it’s essential to separate cultural beliefs from genuine Islamic teachings, especially when it comes to the term “Hajj e Akbar.” All types of Hajj hold importance, and the rewards are linked to your intentions and actions.


Getting to the heart of what Hajj truly means is vital for every Muslim undertaking this sacred journey. It ensures that the pilgrimage is undertaken with the right mindset, promoting spiritual growth and deepening one’s connection with Allah.


Share This Article
Tareq Hussain
Tareq Hussain